VPR VanArsdel Prize extended

Thanks to Alexis Easley, who notes that the RSVP’s VanArsdel Prize deadline has been extended to 1 June. Information about the prize (which includes publication in VPR Spring 2016) can be found here.


Essay Prize: Interdisciplinary Nineteenth-Century Studies (Deadline January 10, 2013)

Interdisciplinary Nineteenth-Century Studies invites nominations for its annual essay prize. The $500 award recognizes excellence in interdisciplinary scholarship on any nineteenth-century topic. We encourage members of INCS to nominate an essay written by a current member of INCS or to submit their own work. Articles published in a journal or an edited collection dated 2012 are eligible. The winning essay will be announced at the 2013 conference, to be held at the University of Virginia, March 14-17, 2013.  The winner is invited to put together a panel for the 2014 INCS Conference.

Please send an electronic copy of the nominated essay to Professor Sharon Aronofsky Weltman (LSU) at incsprize2012@gmail.com no later than January 10, 2013. For more details about the essay competition, the conference, or the organization, we invite you to visit the INCS website at http://www.nd.edu/~incshp/.

Sharon Aronofsky Weltman
Professor of English
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803-5001

Nineteenth-Century Studies Association: 2011 Emerging Scholars Award

NCSA Emerging Scholars Award

The Nineteenth Century Studies Association (NCSA) is pleased to announce the 2011 Emerging Scholars Award. The work of emerging scholars represents the promise and long-term future of interdisciplinary scholarship in 19th-century studies. In recognition of the excellent publications of this constituency of emerging scholars, this award recognizes an outstanding article or essay published within five years of the author’s doctorate. Entries can be from any discipline focusing on any aspect of the long 19th century (the French Revolution to World War I), must be published in English or be accompanied by an English translation, and must be by a single author. Submission of essays that are interdisciplinary is especially encouraged. Entrants must be within five years of having received a doctorate or other terminal professional degree, and must have less than seven years of experience either in an academic career, or as a post-terminal-degree independent scholar or practicing professional.

Only articles physically published between September 1, 2009 and August 31, 2010 (even if the citation date of the journal is different) are eligible for the 2011 Emerging Scholars Award. Articles published in any scholarly journal, including on-line journals, or in edited volumes of essays are eligible and may be submitted either by the author or the publisher of a journal, anthology, or volume containing independent essays. In any given year, an applicant may submit more than one article for this award. The winning article will be selected by a committee of nineteenth-century scholars representing diverse disciplines. Articles submitted to the NCSA Article Prize competition are ineligible for the Emerging Scholars Award. The winner will receive $500 to be presented at the 32nd annual NCSA Conference, “Money/Myths,” in Albuquerque, New Mexico, March 3-6, 2011. Prize recipients need not be members of the NCSA but are encouraged to attend the conference to receive the award. D*eadline for submission is November 19, 2010.*

Send three off-prints or photocopies of published articles/essays to the committee chair: Phylis Floyd, Associate Professor of Art History, Michigan State University, 25 Kresge Art Center, East Lansing, MI 48824-1119. (Electronic submissions will not be accepted.) Address all questions to floyd@msu.edu. Please note that applicants must verify date of actual publication for eligibility and provide an email address so that receipt of their submissions may be acknowledged.

Reminder: Keats-Shelley Association Grants (Nov. 1 deadline)

Re-posting from Doucet Fisher via the NASSR list:

Just a reminder that a few weeks remain before the November 1 application deadline for the Pforzheimer Research Grants. As in previous years, The Keats-Shelley Association of America will award two Carl H. Pforzheimer Jr. Research Grants of $2,500 each to advanced graduate students, independent scholars, or untenured faculty pursuing research on British Romanticism and literary culture between 1789 and 1832, with preference given to projects involving authors and subjects featured in the Keats-Shelley Journal Bibliography. No “country of origin” restrictions apply-proposals from everywhere are welcome.

Further information and application forms may be obtained at the KSAA Website:

or applicants may write to Grants Committee, Keats-Shelley Association of America, Inc., New York Public Library, Room 226, 476 Fifth Ave., New York, NY 10018-2788.

RSVP Colby Prize: Nominations Sought

Call for Nominations
Robert Colby Scholarly Book Prize

The Research Society for Victorian Periodicals is very pleased to award the annual Robert Colby Scholarly Book Prize for a scholarly book that most advances the understanding of the nineteenth-century British newspaper and/or periodical press.  All books exploring periodicals of the period are eligible (including single-author monographs, edited collections, and editions) as long as they have a publication date of 2009.  The winner will receive a plaque and a monetary award of up to $3,000, and will be invited to speak at the RSVP conference at Yale University in New Haven (September 10-11, 2010). The prize was made possible by a generous gift by Vineta Colby in honor of Robert Colby, a long and devoted member of RSVP and a major scholar in the field of Victorian periodicals.

Previous winners of the Colby Prize are:

  • 2009:  Catherine Waters, Commodity Culture in Dickens’s Household Words: The Social Life of Goods (Ashgate)
  • 2008:  Kathryn Ledbetter, Tennyson and Victorian Periodicals: Commodities in Context (Ashgate).
  • 2007: David Finkelstein, Ed., Print Culture and the Blackwood Tradition (University of Toronto Press).
  • 2005-2006: Linda Hughes, Graham R.: Rosamund Marriott Watson, Woman of Letters (Ohio University Press) and Peter Morton, The Busiest Man in London: Grant Allen and the Writing Trade, 1875-1900 (Palgrave).

To nominate a book please email Kathryn Ledbetter (KLedbetter@txstate.edu) by December 1, 2009.  Self-nominations are welcome.